2009 Buffalo News Runner of the Year Races

Race Name Date Time Contact More Info?
1. Shamrock Run 8K March 7 12 Noon 716-856-8613 Yes
2. Shoes For The Shelter 5K March 29 12 Noon 716-888-2977 Yes
3. GBTC Half Marathon May 2 10:00 AM 716-308-9671  
4. Checker's Mile ??? ??? 716-912-9800 Yes
5. Depew-Lancaster Boys and Girls Club 10K July 4 9:00 AM716-683-6755  
6. Subaru Buffalo 4-Mile Chase July 17 7:00 PM716-881-1652Yes
7. Ronald McDonald House 5K July 29 6:30 PM 716-725-4968 Yes
8. Fleet Feet Run Into Buffalo 15K September 7 9:00 AM716-332-3501 Yes
9. Linda Yalem Safety Run 5K September 27 9:30 AM 716-645-2055Yes
10. Bob Ivory Run 5K November 1 9:00 AM 716-270-4113Yes
11. YMCA Turkey Trot 8K November 269:00 AM716-875-0457 Yes

Table Last Updated February 26, 2009

View The Current Standings

What Is The Runner of the Year Series?

The "Runner of the Year" series is a grand prix style competition sponsored by the Buffalo News. To compete, runners accumulate points over the course of the year in these selected races. No special action need be taken to enter. A runner is automatically entered just by running in these events. There are separate divisions for men and women with both overall and age group competition. The "Runner of the Year" title will be awarded to the top overall male and female and to each age group winner.

Scoring is simple. For the overall contest, runners placing in the top ten of any of the races will be awarded points as follows: 12 points for first place, 9 for second place, 8 for third, 7 for fourth, 6 for fifth, 5 for sixth, 4 for seventh, 3 for eighth, 2 for ninth, and 1 point for finishing in tenth place.

For the age-group competition points are awarded as follows: 3 points for a first place finish in the age-group, 2 points for second, and 1 point for finishing third in the age-group.

In each category, the runner with the most points at the end of the year will be the Runner of the Year!

A rule implemented stating in 2006 states that no runner will be eligible for an award unless he/she has completed a minimum of 2 Runner of the Year races.

The "Runner of the Year" feature adds an exciting dimension to the selected races. Current standings are published here continuously at BuffaloRunners.com and periodically in the Buffalo News Running column. The Runner of the Year Series was created by 'News writer Michael Beebe. Today, 'News editor Budd Bailey is the cheif arbiter of the series. Bailey has also succeeded Beebe as the Buffalo News running columnist. The Running column can be found in the News' Sunday edition Sports section.

The "Runner of the Year" awards are usually distributed early the following year.

Buffalo News Runner of the Year Champions

    Year         Mens Champion        Womens Champion   
2008 Mike Heitzenrater Aileen Hoak
2007 David O'Keeffe Allison Carr
2006 John Flor Elizabeth Schultz
2005 Matt Glynn Allison Carr
2004 Mike Heitzenrater Allison Carr
2003 Mike Heitzenrater Allison Carr
2002 Mike Heitzenrater Sue Munson
2001 Mike Heitzenrater Judy Sparks Arlington
2000 Jim Dunlop Brenda Litzinger
1999 Jim Dunlop Bridget Niland-Gwitt
1998 Derek White Maggie Whelehan
1997 Scott Peiser Kristen Schiesswohl
1996 Jim Dunlop Becky Heuer
1995 Paul Hulme Joanne McKinley-Molodynia
Cheryl Burns
1994 Bob Williams Joanne McKinley-Molodynia
1993 Paul Hulme Cindy White
1992 Mark Andrews Heather Whalen
1991 Dan Garrett Jacqueline Murzynowski
1990 David O'Keeffe Jacqueline Murzynowski
1989 Charlie McMullen Deb Froehlich
1988 Matt Hellerer Deb Froehlich
1987 David O'Keeffe Deb Froehlich

Home     News     Races     Results     Resources     Links     Forum     Pictures    

Copyright © 2001 - 2009   BuffaloRunners.com