Buffalo,   New York
Home Forum Races Results Pictures News Articles Tools  Links Contact Us

The Buffalo News
Runner of The Year Series

What Is The Runner of the Year Series?

The "Runner of the Year" series is a grand prix style competition. To compete, runners accumulate points over the course of the year in these selected races. No special action need be taken to enter. A runner is automatically entered just by running in these events. There are separate divisions for men and women with both overall and age group competition. The "Runner of the Year" title will be awarded to the top overall male and female and to each age group winner.

Scoring is simple. For the overall contest, runners placing in the top ten of any of the races will be awarded points as follows: 12 points for first place, 9 for second place, 8 for third, 7 for fourth, 6 for fifth, 5 for sixth, 4 for seventh, 3 for eighth, 2 for ninth, and 1 point for finishing in tenth place.

For the age-group competition points are awarded as follows: 3 points for a first place finish in the age-group, 2 points for second, and 1 point for finishing third in the age-group.

In each category, the runner with the most points at the end of the year will be the Runner of the Year!

A rule implemented stating in 2006 states that no runner will be eligible for an award unless he/she has completed a minimum of 2 Runner of the Year races.

The "Runner of the Year" feature adds an exciting dimension to the selected races. Current standings are published here continuously at BuffaloRunners.com.

Home     News     Articles     Races     Results     Tools     Links     Forum     Pictures     Contact Us    

Copyright © 2000 - 2023   BuffaloRunners.com