106th YMCA Turkey Trot 8K

Buffalo,  NY
November 22,  2001

Race results are available from Runtime Services (click here)

Photos by Jeff John

Antoni Markut
Drawing cheers from the crowds and chants of "USA! USA!", Antoni Markut ran the entire race carrying a beautiful American flag.
Antoni finished 765th in 37:21.

Jason DeJoy
First place overall. Jason won the race last year too. Jason's time was 25:18.
Brian Lombardo
2nd place overall. Brian ran a great race and finished in 25:24 - only 6 seconds behind race winner Jason DeJoy.
Mike Heitzenrater
3rd place overall. Mike is the 2001 'News Runner of the Year. He coasted to a 25:40 clocking. Last year Mike was 8th in 26:02.

Thomas Proctor, IV
4th place overall was earned by Tom Proctor. Here Tom sails effortlessly down Delaware Avenue enroute to an excellent 25:51 clocking.
Mike Platt
Taking 5th place overall is Mike Platt. Mike came all the way from Syracuse and ran an outstanding 25:59 to claim 1st place among all masters runners.
John Huber
Tonawanda's John Huber claimed 7th place in 26:27. John was right behind Derek White who somehow managed to elude the camera's lens. Derek was timed in 26:18.

Coley Carden     Ryan Forrestel     Sam Burroughs

Sam Burroughs leads this trio to complete the top ten finihsers.
Sam took 8th place in 26:42. Ryan was 9th in 26:45 (a whole minute faster than his 19th place finish last year! Good job Ryan!). Coley Carden came all the way from East Hampton CT to claim the coveted 10th spot in 26:54.

Dan Courtney
Midway through the race Dan made a courageous move to catch the leaders and appeared well positioned to battle for the win with breakaway leaders DeJoy and Lombardo when disaster struck - Dan was unexpectedly hit by cramps.   He kept going and placed 13th in 27:15.   Dan was the runner-up in the race last year in 25:26.
     Bob Carroll        Gabriel Urban
Bob Carroll winning his new age group (M45-49) with a 27:20 performance. Being passed by the "old man" is Gabriel Urban from Wayne, Pennsylvania. Gabriel's time was 27:24.

Matt Kubiak  Matt White  John McGrath
With a half mile to go in the 8Km race Matt Kubiak leads this trio. That's how they finished with Matt clocking 27:42, Matt White 27:50, and John McGrath 27:53. They took overall places 25 through 27.
  John Kralisz   Sean Burbank
John Kralisz took 2nd place in the M30-34 age-group with his 28:15 time. Sean Burbank traveled all the way from Mystic CT and earned an excellent 28:12 performance in the 8k.

Willy Hicks
Willy Hicks was timed in 28:09 which was good for 3rd place in his age-group (M40-44).
Benjamin Cady
Benjamin Cady leads a group of runners with about a half mile to go. Ben ran a 28:22 to finish 36th overall.
Sean McDonnell
Zooming to a 2nd place age-group finish (M35-39) is Sean McDonnell. Sean's time was 28:28.

Ken Crawford      Brad Heron
Kenneth C. Crawford was especially strong at the finish. He managed to pick off many good runners, including Steve White, John Kralisz, Sean McDonnell and Ben Cady, over the final 800 meters to post a respectable 28:14. Following Ken was Brad Heron who was timed in 28:34

Charles Laderer    Bill Maloney
Charles Laderer ran 28:37. Bill Maloney was timed in 28:43

  Larry Krajewski
   Stephen Forrestel
      James Waldron

Wisely working in a group may have helped Larry Krajewski win his age-group 'News Series competition (M45-49) with his 2nd place age-group finish in 28:50. Forrestel clocked 28:43 to win his group (M50-54). Waldron ran 28:45 to earn 4th in his group (M40-44).

Rebecca Heuer
Becky won her age-group (F35-39) and was the 2nd place woman overall with her 29:16 performance.
  Eric Boyce
   Susan Munson
      David Peterson

Eric Clocked 29:28.  Susan won her age-group (F40-44) and was 3rd woman overall in 29:35.  David took 3rd in his age-group (M50-54) with a 29:34.

A huge pack of runners appear to be led by Amherst's James Howze. Also identifiable in the picture are Douglas Ackerman,  Mark Raybuck,  Andrew Marconi,  and Mark Rich.

Mark Rich
David Rappleyea
Marguerite Melonic

Kevin Meadows

Dr. James LaMastra
    Stephen Hoadley
        Fran Emmerling

Debra Morris-Allen
    Bridget Niland

Katie M. Wirth
Also visible are Jonathan Ferguson, and Jake Symoniak
Jennifer Koeppel
Jennifer won her age-group (F14-18) with a time of 32:09.

Amy Fakterowitz
Amy placed 2nd in her age-group (F30-34) in 32:30

Jackie Kralisz, Mark Kubiczek, Jim Loesch
Jim Loesch latches on to a couple of well known bandits to pace him to a 2nd place age-group finish (M60-64) in 34:11.
Lynn Lambright
      Aine Roberts-Leahey

Home     News     Articles     Races     Results     Resources     Links     Forum     Pictures     Contact Us    

Copyright © 2001   BuffaloRunners.com